free consultations for injury matters
Calls Answered 24/7


San Antonio Driver Flees on Foot After Colliding With Multiple Vehicles

 Posted on March 08,2021 in Uncategorized

In early February, a driver fled the scene after a series of collisions near I-35 and New Braunfels Avenue in San Antonio, leaving his vehicle behind. The first crash involved two other moving vehicles, and the driver then collided with multiple parked cars before removing his car keys and leaving on foot. This chain of events raises questions regarding what victims can do when they suffer injuries and property damage in a hit-and-run accident, especially one involving more than one victim.

Police Can Often Locate Hit-and-Run Drivers

While it is certainly more difficult to identify and locate a driver who flees the scene after a car accident, it is by no means impossible. Law enforcement officers responding to the accident are often able to use evidence from the scene of the crash to establish a trail that leads to the suspect. For example, if the driver’s vehicle is left behind as in the aforementioned case, officers can check the license plate and vehicle registration information to determine to whom the vehicle belongs. Even if the driver leaves with the vehicle, the police may be able to obtain footage from local security or traffic cameras, as well as testimony from witnesses who saw the driver leave. If the police are able to locate the driver, injury victims may have a more clear course of action for recovering compensation.

Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage Can Help

When the driver responsible for a crash cannot be located, it may be necessary for victims to explore other means of covering the costs of medical bills and property damage. One option in many cases is to file a claim with your own car insurance provider. Insurance companies in Texas are required to offer uninsured motorist coverage, which can take effect when the at-fault driver does not have insurance or cannot be identified after a hit-and-run.

Even if the at-fault driver is identified and located, they may lack sufficient insurance coverage to provide for a victim’s damages. In Texas, the minimum liability coverage that a driver must carry is $30,000 for each person’s injuries up to $60,000 total per accident, and $25,000 of property damage. These amounts often fall short of the victim’s damages in cases involving severe injuries, and as the number of victims increases, it becomes even more unlikely that liability coverage will account for all of their needs. A victim’s underinsured motorist coverage can help in these situations to account for remaining damages that they cannot recover through a claim against the at-fault driver.

Contact a New Braunfels Car Accident Attorney

Every car crash comes with its own set of complications, and if you have been injured, you need an attorney who can help you understand the best approach to recovering compensation given the details of your case. Contact The Bettersworth Law Firm today at 830-443-9193 to request a free consultation with a New Braunfels personal injury lawyer.


Share this post:
Back to Top